top of page
Pupil working on the computer

Digital competence is the set of skills, knowledge and attitudes that enable the confident, creative and critical use of technologies and systems. In simple terms, this can be defined as a set of skills which are designed to help learners become more digitally aware of the ever-changing world they face.


The Digital Competence Framework (DCF) is a tool which can be used to map these skills across the curriculum within each of the Key Stages. The framework encompasses the following strands:


  1. Citizenship

  2. Interacting and Collaborating

  3. Producing

  4. Data and Computational Thinking

Throughout the curriculum, pupils encounter each of these strands in their studies to help them gather a deeper understanding of them. The following set of videos have been created to support the development of these skills:

DCF Video Channel

Pupil Vlogging

Digital Competence


bottom of page